Early Closure of Six MRT Stations on the East-West Line in November 2018

Singapore, 24 October 2018

Early Closure of Six MRT Stations on the East-West Line in November 2018

1. Six MRT stations along the East-West Line (EWL) will close earlier at around 11.00pm on Fridays and Saturdays in November 2018. Engineers from the Land Transport Authority and SMRT will be using the additional hours to continue works to renew the power supply system as well as conduct other maintenance and asset renewal works. The affected sector and early closure dates are as follows:




2 - 24 Nov 2018

Friday and Saturday

2, 3, 9, 10, 16, 17, 23, 24 Nov

Six EWL MRT stations: Pioneer – Tuas Link (Both directions)



Shuttle Bus Services during Early Closures

2. To maintain connectivity for commuters during these early closures, shuttle bus services will ply along the affected sector, stopping at designated bus stops near the MRT stations to pick-up and drop-off passengers.  Commuters are advised to cater for additional travelling time when travelling between MRT stations using the shuttle bus services.

From 2 to 24 Nov 2018

Service Area

Service Interval

Shuttle Bus Service 3

Between Tuas Link and Boon Lay (Both directions)

2 - 10 minutes

3. As the timing of the last trains departing each station during the planned closures of MRT stations from 2 to 24 November 2018 will vary, commuters are advised to check for station-specific timings at affected MRT stations, on SMRT Trains’ website and social media platforms when planning their journeys on affected dates. Refer to the following appendices for more information.

4. SMRT will keep commuters updated on changes in timing to train operations and alternative transport arrangements on SMRT’s Trains’ website: as well as through SMRT’s Facebook, Twitter feed and the SMRTConnect app.